Recipe: Coffee Cupcakes

3 weeks ago, there I was doing trials and error looking for a good coffee cake recipe. In total i tried 3 recipes, but none of them really surprised me. It might be because of the espresso powder i used, or or the recipe itself. However, there was this particular recipe that had the texture I liked, it was similar to the coffee cake sold at Bengawan Solo. I guessed maybe I could infuse some espressoo coffee into the cakes/cupcakes the next time I’m doing that recipe again.

The very first time I tried to make the cupcakes, it failed really badly as I did too much alterations to the recipe. Worse of all, I added too much coffee oil to the buttercream, causing it to taste overpoweringly sweet yet bitter.

IMG_1672

The following day was the day I tried 3 recipes and got a good one. It was the one with the almonds on the buttercream. Pardon me for the black dots on that cupcake, I scooped a handful of espresso powder into the batter I don’t know why. After that, I realised it was ground coffee. The packaging wrote ‘Espresso Powder’, but I overlooked the words at the bottom, ‘ground coffee’. I’m blind.

                                 IMG_1694 IMG_1695

Coffee cupcake recipe

adapted from nigella.com

  • 25g walnut pieces
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 113g soft unsalted butter (plus some for greasing)
  • 100g all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp instant coffee granules/powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. Double sift the flour, coffee powder, baking powder, and bicarbonate of soda. If you are using coffee granules, then no need for sifting.
  3. Mix the above dry ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar for a few minutes, until light and fluffy. This is a very important step, please be patient and really beat the butter and sugar for at least 3 mins.
  5. Add in the eggs, one egg at a time.
  6. Then placed in the flour mixture in 3 parts so that the flour does not fly all over your counter top. Mix until just combined. It is fine if you still see abit of flour
  7. Lastly, pour in your milk. Mix until combine and bake them in prepared cupcake liners for about 18 to 20 minutes, or when you insert a toothpick to the cupcake, the toothpick comes out clean.

*Stay tune for more coffee cake recipes as I will be trying out cakes baked with other techniques.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Coffee Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

