Cupcake madness

It has been hectic the past few weeks, me coping with studies and exams are coming up and I have work. But nevertheless, I managed to find time for my little cupcake business. Since I have to give my best service, I had to travel all around MRT stations to send cupcakes to my customers. Right now, most of them are mainly my classmates, ex classmates and people I know. Currently I don’t have any plans to expand this business to social networking sites as I’m not ready, due to all the time constraint. But soon I will be doing that, and hopefully I will have saved enough money to open a cafe (:

Back to the topic. So far these are the ones I’ve baked so far and sold them.

IMG_0432

Triple Chocolate Cupcake- Chocolate cupcake with chocolate cream cheese frosting topped with chocolate chips

Chocolate Caramel Cupcake- Chocolate cupcake with cream cheese frosting topped with caramel drizzle.

IMG_0442

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes- Chocolate cupcake with salted caramel cream cheese frosting topped with salted caramel drizzle.

IMG_0440

Hidden caramel inside the salted caramel and caramel cupcakes ^^

Well there was one little problem, the consistency of the frosting was not thick enough to withstand the hot and humid weather in Singapore. After some research, I found out that adding cream of tartar or cornstarch to your frosting will thicken the consistency. Icing sugar do contain amounts of cornstarch, but maybe not that much to thicken the consistency to a large extent. Anyway this is a little tip from me (: How well it works, I do not know. However, I am going to try it tomorrow when baking Red Velvet cupcakes and most probably more Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes.

I actually baked Red Velvet cupcakes few days back, but they failed badly. They tasted like dough and there wasn’t even any chocolate taste to it. It was sad how I have to throw away the awesome cream cheese frosting too ): It must be my fault. I have been using this Red Velvet recipe for so long! Gotta blame it on my carelessness.

Errors while baking:

Chocolate Caramel Cupcakes- The caramel I made was abit too runny and it seeped through the hole I dug in the middle of the cupcakes! ): Definitely gonna improve on that. I already have another jar of more thickened caramel ready in the fridge.

Triple Chocolate Cupcakes- These are definitely good enough. No errors were made other than the consistency of the frosting. Improving on that tomorrow!

Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes- The hidden salted caramel in the cupcakes were like soft toffee, cause of the thick caramel sauce. This made the hidden salted caramel so concentrated with salt I almost drank 2L of water everytime I ate one cupcake. To fix this, I am going to dig a smaller hole next time, or not dig any holes at all because the salted caramel cream cheese frosting already has enough flavour.

Red Velvet Cupcakes- Dry cupcakes, no flavour at all, total disaster. I am going to open my eyes wider when I read recipes next time.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

I feel like I’m writing a Laboratory Report, the limitations and source errors part. Not alot of tips in this post, but hope the one for the frosting consistency problem helps!

Leave a Reply

